What future are you building?

Get insights from our founders and portfolio news straight to your inbox.

  • Portfolio News
  • 02 June 2012
  • 6 min read
  • Words: Northzone

Kathryn Kranen elected chair of EDA Consortium

Originally published by EE Times

San Francisco, June 1st 2012 – Kathryn Kranen, president and CEO of Jasper Design Automation, was elected chairman of the board of directors of the EDA Consortium. Kranen is the first woman elected to the position.

Walden Rhines, chairman and CEO of Mentor Graphics Corp., and Lip-Bu Tan, president and CEO of Cadence Design Systems Inc., were elected vice chairs, EDAC said.

Kranen, a veteran of more than 20 years in EDA who has been CEO of Jasper since 2003, is the first woman to serve as chair of EDAC’s board of directors. For most of the past decade, the EDAC chairmanship has largely rotated between Rhines and Aart de Geus, chairman and CEO (now co-CEO) of Synopsys Inc.

“Having been an active member of the EDAC board of directors for the past eight years, I am honored and delighted at the opportunity to serve as chair,” Kranen said through a statement. “EDAC has made significant strides in addressing the common needs of the EDA industry, benefiting not only our member companies but the entire semiconductor and electronics ecosystems enabled by EDA. I look forward to working with the new and returning board members to continue and expand our work.”

EDAC board members who were re-elected to serve another term include de Geus; Edmund Cheng, president and CEO of Gradient Design Automation; Dane Collins, CEO of AWR Corp.; John Kibarian, president and CEO of PDF Solutions Inc.; Simon Segars, executive vice president and general manager at ARM Holding Ltd.; and Ravi Subramanian, president and CEO of Berkeley Design Automation Inc.

Two new directors were also elected to EDAC’s board: Raul Camposano, CEO of Nimbic, and Dean Drako, president and CEO of IC Manage.

“I am delighted to join the EDAC board of directors,” Camposano said. He pledged to be an active participant in EDAC, focusing on areas such as 3-D IC and wafer level packaging platforms and the compute power of cloud computing.